Massachusetts Reopening Plans

On May 18 Governor Baker released a report providing some detail about how businesses and other entities in Massachusetts will be allowed to reopen in the coming weeks and months. Phase 1, which begins May 18,2020 allows construction, manufacturing and houses of worship to resume operations with proper safety protocols. Beginning May 25th, additional businesses and facilities, including some recreational facilities, be will be able to open. Please see the links below for specifics and standards that must be followed to open:

 Reopening Massachusetts

   Reopening website: https://www.mass.gov/info-details/reopening-massachusetts


Permitted to reopen on May 18, 2020 under the following standards:

 Construction: https://www.mass.gov/lists/safety-standards-for-construction

 Manufacturing: https://www.mass.gov/lists/safety-standards-for-manufacturing

 Places of Worship: https://www.mass.gov/lists/safety-standards-for-places-of-worship

 Outdoor recreational activities and businesses in the Commonwealth: https://www.mass.gov/info-details/executive-office-of-energy-and-environmental-affairs-eea-covid-19-guidance-documents

 
Permitted to reopen on May 25, 2020 under the following standards:

 Office Spaces: https://www.mass.gov/lists/safety-standards-for-office-spaces

 Laboratories: https://www.mass.gov/lists/safety-standards-for-laboratories

 Hair Salons and Barbershops: https://www.mass.gov/lists/safety-standards-for-hair-salons-and-barbershops

 Car Washes: https://www.mass.gov/lists/safety-standards-for-car-washes

 Pet Grooming Services: https://www.mass.gov/lists/safety-standards-for-pet-grooming-services


Permitted to reopen on June 8, 2020 (Phase II, Step 1) under the following standards:

Driving and Flight Schools: https://www.mass.gov/info-details/safety-standards-and-checklist-driving-and-flight-schools

Golf Facilities: https://www.mass.gov/info-details/safety-standards-and-checklist-golf-facilities

Libraries: https://www.mass.gov/info-details/safety-standards-and-checklist-libraries

Operators of Lodging: https://www.mass.gov/info-details/safety-standards-and-checklist-operators-of-lodgings

Restaurants: https://www.mass.gov/info-details/safety-standards-and-checklist-restaurants

Retail Businesses: https://www.mass.gov/info-details/safety-standards-and-checklist-retail-businesses

Sectors not otherwise addressed: https://www.mass.gov/info-details/safety-standards-and-checklist-sectors-not-otherwise-addressed


Permitted to reopen on June 22, 2020 (Phase II, Step 2) under the following standards:

 Close Contact Personal Services: https://www.mass.gov/info-details/safety-standards-and-checklist-close-contact-personal-services

Restaurants (indoor table services): https://www.mass.gov/info-details/safety-standards-and-checklist-restaurants

Office Spaces (updated as of June 19, 2020): https://www.mass.gov/info-details/safety-standards-and-checklist-office-spaces

Retail Businesses (updated as of June 19, 2020): https://www.mass.gov/info-details/safety-standards-and-checklist-retail-businesses


Permitted to reopen on July 6, 2020 (Phase III, Step 1) under the following standards:

Fitness Centers and Health Clubs: https://www.mass.gov/info-details/safety-standards-and-checklist-fitness-centers-and-health-clubs

Museums and Cultural and Historical Facilities and Guided Tours: https://www.mass.gov/info-details/safety-standards-and-checklist-museums-and-cultural-and-historical-facilities-and

Indoor and Outdoor Events: https://www.mass.gov/info-details/safety-standards-and-checklist-indoor-and-outdoor-events

Indoor Recreation: https://www.mass.gov/info-details/safety-standards-and-checklist-indoor-recreation

Theaters and Performance Venues: https://www.mass.gov/info-details/safety-standards-and-checklist-theaters-and-performance-venues


Additional guidance: 

 Outdoor Recreation: https://www.mass.gov/info-details/executive-office-of-energy-and-environmental-affairs-eea-covid-19-guidance-documents

Reopening health and human services: https://www.mass.gov/lists/reopening-health-and-human-services-in-massachusetts

Child care and summer camps: https://eeclead.force.com/apex/EEC_ChildCareEmergencyReopenInfo

Occupational Schools and Testing Centers: https://www.mass.gov/info-details/safety-standards-and-control-plan-occupational-schools-and-testing-centers

Reopening higher education: https://www.mass.gov/info-details/reopening-higher-education