The Canton Historical Commission

Protecting & Preserving Canton's History




The Canton Historical Commission, is established under Section 8d of Chapter 40 of the Massachusetts General Laws. We are the official Town body charged with the identification of properties and sites in Canton of historical significance and we are the principal advisor to the Town on matters relating to historic preservation.

We are often confused with the Canton Historical Society, a private, non-profit organization dedicated to the preservation of local history through collecting and exhibiting artifacts on local history.

The Commission consists of seven members appointed to three-year terms by the Board of Selectmen. The current members are:

Wally Gibbs, Chairman 
James Fitzpatrick Jr., Vice Chairman
Michael Nourse
Maryanne Byrne
George T. Comeau
John Burke
Kathi Keith
Patricia Johnson, Alternate Member
Thomas Keleher, Jr. Alternate Member, Clerk



Preservation Awards Program
  Visit the Friends of the Little Red House, Inc.

Historic Research

The Tilden House

The Commission holds a regular meeting, usually on the second Wednesday of each month, at 7:30 p.m. in the at Pequitside Farm, 95 Pleasant Street. All meetings are posted at Memorial Hall at least 48 hours in advance of the meeting.

Home | Demolition Delay | Inventory of Cultural and Historic Resources | Press Information | Links

To contact us:
Wally Gibbs, Chairman
Phone: 781.828.0073

Canton Historical Commission
Memorial Hall
Washington Street
Canton, MA 02021